

CENTRAL ILLINOIS MUNICIPAL CLERKS ORGANIZATION WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 18, 2023 NOON

Saffron Social 187 SW Washington Street Peoria, Illinois 61602

CALL TO ORDER

President Tarr called the meeting to order at 5:40pm.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL

CIMCO Officers Present:

Stefanie Tarr, President; Angie Huonker, Past President; and Tana Ward, Secretary. President Tarr declared a quorum was present.

Nicole Stewart, Vice President; and Wendy Hundley, Treasurer were absent.

CIMCO Members Present:

Kelli Bennewitz (Galesburg), Trina Bonds (Peoria), Valeri Brod (Washington), Jill Byrnes (Chillicothe), Courtney Coe (Peoria), Ericka Gugliotta (Galesburg), Sue McMillan (Pekin), Darcy Sandefur (Urbana), Tierra Shickel (Normal), Amanda Stutsman (Bloomington), and Leslie Yocum (Bloomington)

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Courtney Coe lead the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

ANNUAL REPORT

A motion was made by Ericka Gugliotta to approve the Annual Report as presented by Sue McMillan, seconded by Angie Huonker. Motion carried by viva voce vote.

MEETING MINUTES

A motion was made by Angie Huonker to approve the August 9, 2023 Meeting Minutes as presented, seconded by Kelli Bennewitz. Motion carried by viva voce vote.

TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer's Report will be deferred to the December 6, 2023 Meeting due to the absence of Treasurer Hundley.

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

A motion was made by Angie Huonker to approve the 2024 Committees as presented by President Tarr, seconded by Kelli Bennewitz. Motion carried by viva voce vote.

NEW BUSINESS

The Ilion Wait Crabel Memorial Scholarship was discussed, with the recommendations presented by the Scholarship Committee. Angie Huonker suggested that the full name to be included in the Bylaws, along with Tana Ward suggesting to include the history of the scholarship. The recommendations will be reviewed and added to the current slate of changes to the Bylaws to be presented during the February 2024 meeting.

A motion was made by Kelli Bennewitz to allow new members joining after July of the current year to extend their membership through the next membership cycle with no additional cost, seconded by Tierra Shickel. Motion carried by viva voce vote.

President Tarr requested that the membership review the standing committees and the description changes needed in the Bylaws. The following Bylaws recommendations were discussed:

- A) Ericka Gugliotta moving the directory to the website, eliminating the Telephone Committee
- B) Angie Huonker eliminating the Program Committee, assigning this task to the Officers
- C) Ericka Gugliotta eliminate the Publicity Committee, assigning these tasks to the Officers (Trunkline announcements, Talk of Town articles, designation notices, etc.)
- D) Angie Huonker add an Education Committee to spearhead the Back to Basics event with the President to oversee the committee delegates

OTHER BUSINESS

Sue McMillan asked who the current Honorary CIMCO Members were. President Tarr suggested that Beth Ball and Phyllis Clark be added to this list, with a Proclamation to be presented during the December meeting.

PRESIDENT RECOGNITIONS

President Tarr recognized the 2022-2023 Committee Chairpersons.

- A) Angie Huonker, Program Committee
- B) Nicole Stewart, Publicity Committee
- C) Janet Gray, Scholarship Committee
- D) Morgan Cadwalader, Bylaws Committee
- E) Tana Ward, Auditing Committee
- F) Kelli Bennewitz and Erika Gugliotta, Telephone Directory

CIMCO October 18, 2023

Page | 3

- G) Sue McMillan, Yearbook Committee
- H) Janet Gray, Membership Committee
- I) Wendy Hundley, Mentoring Committee
- J) Tana Ward, Webmaster / Website Committee

President Tarr recognized the 2022-2023 Hostesses.

- A) Amanda Stutsman, Bloomington
- B) Margie Barnes, West Peoria
- C) Kelli Bennewitz and Ericka Gugliotta, Galesburg
- D) Trina Bonds and Courtney Coe, Peoria
- E) Janet Gray and Tana Ward, Rantoul

President Tarr recognized the Back to Basics Presenters.

- A) FOIA Questions/Answers Tierra Shickel, Nicole Stewart, Courtney Coe
- B) Forms of Government and Municipal Calendar Wendy Hundley and Tana Ward
- C) Open and Closed Meetings, Notices & Agendas Kelli Bennewitz
- D) Open and Closed Minutes, Archiving, and Releasing Closed Minutes Tana Ward
- E) Ordinances and Resolutions; Posting, Publication, and Filing Requirements Nicole Stewart
- F) Best Practices: Licenses, Notary Public, and Duties of the Deputy Clerk Trina Bonds, Ericka Gugliotta, Angie Huonker, and Tana Ward

President Tarr recognized Courtney Coe for the Annual President's Award.

UPCOMING EVENTS

President Tarr shared the upcoming schedule dates of note.

CIMCO Meeting December 6, 2023 at Noon (Normal)

MCI Winter Seminar January 2024 - TBD

IIMC 2024 Conference May 19-22, 2024 at Calgary, Alberta, Canada

ADJOURNMENT

Angie Huonker made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Sue McMillan. The motion carried, and the meeting was adjourned at 6:42pm.

Tana Ward
CIMCO Secretary
MCI District Six Director
Village Clerk, Thomasboro, IL
Deputy Village Clerk, Rantoul, IL